Some Things We Cannot Do

Often, unbelievable statements made by those claiming to be Believers are not true…

  • “I want to make Jesus Lord of my life.”  Do we not understand, Jesus IS Lord, “You know that when you were pagans you were often led astray by speechless idols, however you were led. So I want you to understand that no one speaking by the Spirit of God says, “Jesus is cursed,” and no one can say, “Jesus is Lord,” except by the Holy Spirit.” 1 Corinthians 11:2-3.
  • “The government has closed churches.” “This is the solemn pronouncement of the Holy One, the True One, who holds the key of David, who opens doors no one can shut, and shuts doors no one can open: ‘I know your deeds. (Look! I have put in front of you an open door that no one can shut.) I know that you have little strength, but you have obeyed my word and have not denied my name.” Revelation 3:7-8.
  • “I want to rededicate my life to Jesus…” Some might say, “we realize that we will continue to struggle with sinful temptation that can cause us to stumble.” There is no internal struggle because temptations come from outside where Satan lives. We have been crucified with Christ and because He lives within us our strength comes from Him. “Now when this perishable puts on the imperishable, and this mortal puts on immortality, then the saying that is written will happen, Death has been swallowed up in victory. Where, O death, is your victory? Where, O death, is your sting?  The sting of death is sin, and the power of sin is the law. But thanks be to God, who gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ!” 1 Corinthians 15:54-57.
  • “I can walk away from God.” ”Therefore we must progress beyond the elementary instructions about Christ and move on to maturity, not laying this foundation again: repentance from dead works and faith in God, teaching about ritual washings, laying on of hands, resurrection of the dead, and eternal judgment. And this is what we intend to do, if God permits. For it is impossible in the case of those who have once been enlightened, tasted the heavenly gift, become partakers of the Holy Spirit, tasted the good word of God and the miracles of the coming age, and then have committed apostasy, to renew them again to repentance, since they are crucifying the Son of God for themselves all over again and holding him up to contempt.” Hebrews 6:1-6. And Jesus tells us, “My sheep listen to my voice, and I know them, and they follow me. I give them eternal life, and they will never perish; no one will snatch them from my hand. My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all, and no one can snatch them from my Father’s hand. The Father and I are one.” John 10:27-30.
  • “The government has removed God from public life.“ In our day churches across America have faced many, many problems in attempts to be ‘The Church.’ Today there exist many perversions of Christianity and non-Christian religions seeking a place at the table in Washington, D.C. Therefore, their gods have been removed to placate choice. However, our God cannot be removed. One of the most powerful stories in all of the Bible is found in Genesis in which Israel is enslaved by Egypt. God sets them free, “The Lord made his people very fruitful and made them more numerous than their enemies.” Psalm 105:24. The Body of Christ is more numerous around the world than most think and their supposed enemy is not the Church, but themselves. Evil is its own worst enemy. The Bride is more powerful than Satan’s armies.

There are many, many more statements similar to these that are, well, stupid. However, each falls into one category: faith or the lack thereof. What we know is, “Now faith is being sure of what we hope for, being convinced of what we do not see. For by it the people of old received God’s commendation. By faith we understand that the worlds were set in order at God’s command, so that the visible has its origin in the invisible.” Hebrews 11:1, NASB.

Jesus is Lord.

About Robert Williford

Conservative Southern Baptist pastor, missionary, and personal evangelist. An avid supporter of Texas Tech Athletics. Enjoy oil painting, writing and woodworking. My wife, children, and grandchildren are my joy. Reading, writing and painting are great for relaxing......
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment