Countering Foolish Statements III

“I believe that the entire Bible is in some sense, but not all of it in the same way, the Word of God.”

There has never, ever, been a single moment in my lifetime that I have doubted the accuracy, truth or infallibility of the Word of God, ever. Almost 7 decades account for my short time in this frail body that my soul occupies and I have vague memories of my third year. From my first memories of church the Bible has been an important part of who I was am at this very moment. Paul says an interesting thing, “You are our letter, written in our hearts, known and read by all men; being manifested that you are a letter of Christ, cared for by us, written not with ink but with the Spirit of the living God, not on tablets of stone but on tablets of human hearts.” 2 Corinthians 3:2-3 NASB. I began to learn about the Christ from a very early age, most likely from the first Sunday after my birth which would be about my 6th day of life. Bible verse memory was a vital aspect of my learning experiences. From that first week of life and after I expressed public faith in Christ as a 7 year-old at the First Baptist Church of Lubbock, Texas, there has never been a question as to whether or not the Bible is completely true.

However, over the course of these many years and encounters with thousands of people, indeed I have heard this statement, “I believe that the entire Bible is in some sense, but not all of it in the same way, the Word of God.” But, I do recall with vivid clarity the first time I was confronted by someone who did not hold to the same understanding. I was in my first semester at Texas Tech University and was visiting a ‘Coffee House’ which was one of many hangouts of Tech students. We were sitting across from one another talking about religion when for the very first time I heard someone challenge the veracity of God’s Word. The young man spoke disparagingly about the Bible and questioned the truth of it. To say that I was offended is just the half of it. In fact, I was asked to leave the building. To say the least, I could have responded differently, but I did not know of anyone who could have possibly speak in such a derogatory fashion about the Bible.

What I do know today is far different from what I knew on that night almost 50 years ago, but the intensity of the argument of unbelievers has increased many times. However, the words of the Scriptures have not changed in an effort to meet the growing challenges of those who stand and war against it. The most interesting thing is that while the efforts of the evil have increased and the attempts to weaken the Fortress of Truth, this one statement has not changed in face of the repeated attacks, “Remember those who led you, who spoke the word of God to you; and considering the result of their conduct, imitate their faith. Jesus Christ is the same yesterday and today and forever.9 Do not be carried away by varied and strange teachings; for it is good for the heart to be strengthened by grace, not by foods, through which those who were so occupied were not benefited.” Hebrews 13:7-9.

Certainly, the audience that will most likely read this will no doubt agree with me. My hope and prayer is that this audience will somehow find it within themselves not to compromise the Word of God when confronted with those who vehemently stand against them. There a many more than any of can imagine who not only disagree, but may possibly violently opposed to the truth that is the foundation of their faith. Peter writes these words of encouragement, “And coming to Him as to a living stone which has been rejected by men, but is choice and precious in the sight of God,5 you also, as living stones, are being built up as a spiritual house for a holy priesthood, to offer up spiritual sacrifices acceptable to God through Jesus Christ.6 For this is contained in Scripture: “Behold, I lay in Zion a choice stone, a precious corner stone, And he who believes in Him will not be disappointed.” This precious value, then, is for you who believe; but for those who disbelieve, “The stone which the builders rejected, This became the very corner stone,” and, “A stone of stumbling and a rock of offense”; for they stumble because they are disobedient to the word, and to this doom they were also appointed.”  1 Peter 2:4-8.

 

There is much, much more which can be said, but with this I conclude, “You, however, continue in the things you have learned and become convinced of, knowing from whom you have learned them,  and that from childhood you have known the sacred writings which are able to give you the wisdom that leads to salvation through faith which is in Christ Jesus.  All Scripture is inspired by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, for training in righteousness; so that the man of God may be adequate, equipped for every good work.” 2 Timothy 3:14-17. Jesus is Lord.

 

 

 

About BobW

Conservative Southern Baptist pastor, missionary and personal evangelist. Avid supporter of Texas Tech, Dallas Cowboys, Mavericks and Texas Rangers Enjoy my wood shop, Nikon camera, oil painting, yard work and light workouts. My wife, children and grand children are my joy. Reading and writing are great for relaxing......
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

